Batchelor Institute » Staff Awards 2014
default logo
Date:December 11, 2014

Staff Awards 2014

Click on the photo above to view gallery photos

On Friday 5 December, Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education celebrated outstanding staff members at the Staff Awards 2014 official presentation ceremony held at the Institute Batchelor Campus and Desert People Centre (DPC) Campus. Thirty one individual staff members or teams were recognised for their remarkable achievements and contribution to the Institute vision, quality research, education and training.

Batchelor Institute Staff Awards 2014 nominations:

Batchelor Institute Vision

  • Rodney Mitchell, Arlparra Learning Centre Coordinator
  • Jan Fleming, RRACSSU South Coordinator
  • Margaret Carew, Project Linguist, CALL
  • Human Resources Team
  • Quality Management Team
  • Imran Naveed, Senior Marketing and Communication Advisor
  • Kevin Arthur, Web Administrator
  • Lawrie Webster, Lecturer Katherine
  • Don McGinness, General Services Officer, Batchelor – Winner

Excellence in Teaching and Training

  • Paul Tolley, Lecturer Media
  • Lynn Maloney, Lecturer Health Science Higher Education
  • Quality Management Team
  • Karen Khan, FSK Lecturer VET Division
  • Evelyn Schaber, Program Coordinator DPC Campus
  • Aliia Dorohokuplia, Lecturer DPC Campus
  • Construction Team – Winner

General Staff

  • Susan Satour, Student Support Officer
  • Residential Team/DPC Campus
  • Ben Frankcombe, CAC & Remote Support Officer ICT
  • Katrina McGarvie, Human Resources Advisor
  • Eike Pakeha, Manager Student Services
  • Sue Retallick, Student Travel Manager
  • Kitchen Team, Batchelor
  • Alec Campbell, General Services Officer
  • Student Support Team, Batchelor
  • Design & Resource Production Team – Winner

Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning

  • Ben Cavuoto, Lecturer Conservation and Land Management
  • Cheryl O’Dwyer, Lecturer Conservation and Land Management – Winner

Exceptional Performance in Research

  • Sandy O’Sullivan, ARC Senior Indigenous Researchers & Australian Learning and Teaching Fellow – Winner

Director’s Award

  • Helen Kennedy, Lecturer Food Technology

Special guests included Batchelor Institute Chair of Council, Professor Markham Rose and the Institute’s recently appointed Director Robert (Bob) Somerville, a Martu Aboriginal man from Gascoyne Murchison region of Western Australia.

On behalf of the Institute, Dr Stephenson said “Batchelor Institute would like to congratulate all staff members nominated for the Awards. The Institute is proud of all our dedicated staff members who work together to improve the education and training outcomes for Indigenous students. The supportive and collaborative relationships our staff have established with industry, the community and other organisations are second to none.”

The presentation ceremony was followed by a shared lunch on both campuses.