Batchelor Institute » Student Representative Council Vote
default logo
  • Election for Student Representative to Council - Students in a classroom

Election Candidates for Student Representative on Council

Nominations have closed for the election of a Student Representative for the Batchelor Institute Council under section 13(2) of the Act. Nominations were received for two students and both students have accepted the nomination. We congratulate both nominees.

Voting is now open for a one-week period.

Candidates who are progressing to the voting stage include:

Vanessa FarrellyVanessa Farrelly

Vanessa Farrelly is a Pertame Southern Arrernte young person living in Alice Springs (Mparntwe) on Central Arrernte Country. She is currently a Masters research student within the Batchelor Institute Post-Graduate program. Vanessa has four years experience coordinating the Pertame Program, working with Elders and community to organise on-country language camps, school holiday programs, in-school classes and community language lessons.

Vanessa is a partial speaker of Pertame, and has been coordinating the only active Master-Apprentice program in Australia after training in language immersion from the Global Indigenous Language Caucus in New York. Vanessa’s Masters research will focus on the revival of the Pertame language using innovative immersion methods created by Californian Native American language communities that seek to rapidly create new fluent speakers of endangered Indigenous languages. Using Pertame as a case study, Vanessa hopes to bring this method to Australia, to inspire and support other Indigenous language groups to take control over their language programs prioritising Indigenous forms of intergenerational transmission.

Vanessa won the Alice Springs NAIDOC Youth of the year in 2019, the Minister for Territory Families Scholarship for Women in Higher Education in 2017 and the Judith Wright Scholarship for High Achieving Indigenous Undergraduate Women in 2016.

Helen BishopHelen Bishop

Helen Bishop is a Kungarakan woman from the Territory, on country where Batchelor Institute is located. Her academic focus is to enlarge procedural fairness, dispute resolution, problem-solving and participatory agreement making. She formalised her deep interests in social equity and peacebuilding obtaining a MA in Conflict Resolution and a Professional Certificate in Indigenous Research and Leadership.

Helen is completing her PhD project at Batchelor Institute on her own country and her main interests rest in excellent student services and experience for Batchelor students. Her aim is to build from your experiences as a Student or Candidate and to shape the way Batchelor Institute better responds to your needs and interests, dreams and goals and to include Communities visions. There is no greater place to improve such services and excellence than with First Nation peoples’ their own place of learning and development – Batchelor Institute.

Helen is a Nationally Accredited Mediator and the Winner of the Australian Alternative Dispute Resolution Award: A&TSIS Mediator of the Year 2019. She is also the former President of the Northern Territory NTEU and is currently a member of the Women Mediators across the Commonwealth with Indigenous women mediators championing peace-making and building; problem solving and decision making and nurturing healthy collaborative relationships.

Voting is open

Voter Eligibility

The composition of Council under the Batchelor Institute Act states the Council consists of:
11(1)(e) one student, whose usual place of residence is in the Territory:
(i) elected by the students after a request has been made under section 13(2); and
(ii) declared to be a member by the Administrator;

Voting is now open for a one-week period

How to submit your vote:

  • Only currently enrolled students can participate in the voting process
  • Voting period is Monday 26 July to close of business Friday 30 July 2021
  • Please vote using the online voting form
  • Voting is treated as confidential by the elections team. (Voter names are recorded for the sole purpose of ensuring votes are cast only by currently enrolled students.)
  • Students will be notified of the outcome of the election by COB Wednesday 11 August 2021

If you cannot access the voting form please call the ICT Helpdesk on 08 8939 7116 or

Should you require further information please contact or Michelle Barker on 0448 277 093 or Katrina McGarvie on 8939 7393.