default logo

Institute Council

Professor Markham Rose – Chairperson
DipT, BSS, MEd (Admin), PhD

Professor Mark Rose is traditionally linked to the Gunditjmara Nation of Western Victoria. With a 30 year career in education, Professor Rose has contributed to broad range of educational settings within the state of Victoria, nationally and internationally.

Mark currently holds the position of Executive Director of Indigenous Strategy and Education at La Trobe University. In ministerially appointed arrangements he advised ministers Nelson, Bishop, Gillard and Garrett, co-chair Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody Review, sat on numerous government task forces, is involved with United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues in New York and is a delegate to the National Congress of Australia’s First People.

Currently Mark is Vice President of VAEAI (Victorian Aboriginal Education Association Incorporated), Chairs the Indigenous advisory group of ACARA as well Chairs of Batchelor Institute in the Northern Territory.

Professor Boni Robertson

Professor Robertson is the Professor of Indigenous Policy at Griffith University. Professor Robertson held senior appointments at the University of Queensland and was State Chair of the Ministerial Indigenous Education Advisory Committee. Professor Robertson has co-authored and authored numerous state, national and international reviews and reports relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander affairs and has extensive experience in the area of Indigenous policy, community engagement and community partnerships. She also has linkages with various representative and consultative groups, such as the World Indigenous Nations Higher Education Consortium and the National Indigenous Higher Education Network.

Dr Kevin Gillan
DipTeach, BEd, GradDip SpecEd, MEd, PhD

Dr Gillan is the Executive Director, Education Partnerships with the NT Governments, Department of Education. Dr Gillan was appointed to be a member on Council as the representative for the CEO for the Department.

Kevin was a former District Director and principal in various regions throughout WA before joining the Department in 2006. He has also taught in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. In the Territory he has previously been General Manager of Schools (Palmerston and Rural), Executive Director Schools North and Head of School Education and Training Operations. He has also worked in the Department of Chief Minister and as a Professor at Charles Darwin University in recent times. Kevin has a long-term research interest in Indigenous education, in which he completed his PhD. He believes that successful schools are those that have a real focus on optimising relationships at all levels throughout the school community and have an unrelenting focus on quality pedagogy.

Mr Peter McCaffrey

Peter recently retired after 44 years in the state public service from his roles as the Deputy Director General, Finance and Administration and Chief Finance Officer of the Department of Education and Training.

During this time he made a significant contribution to education and training and helped shape the programs and resourcing that has provided many West Australians with the opportunity to succeed in their chosen endeavours.

Peter has a Bachelor of Business degree in finance and accounting and was responsible for the finance and budgeting, and much of the administrative areas of the department including the buildings and infrastructure, information and technology, and the establishment and operation of the shared services centre.

He has extensive knowledge and experience in government finance, resource management, and the complexities, importance, and challenges in ensuring that sufficient places are provided for the training of apprentices and trainees to meet industry demands for a skilled workforce.

Ms Louise Dyer

Louise Dyer, a Warlpiri and Lurjtja woman from Alice Springs comes from a background in both the construction industry and not for profit sectors.

Louise is currently the manager of operations and projects at Central Australian Affordable Housing Company, a not for profit community housing organisation. Before assuming the role of operations manager for CAAH, Louise was a project manager and marketing manager for local builder, Ingkerreke Commercial.

Much of Louise’s background is in community development, in particular Indigenous community development which helps with the social dimension of her work.

Mr Lawrie Webster

Lawrence Webster is a 67 year old Ngarrindjeri man from the mouth of the River Murray in South Australia. He began teaching in 1988 in Adelaide and then moved on to teaching remote Indigenous students in the Flinders Ranges and the Pitjantjatjara lands in South Australia then to the Arnhem and Katherine regions via the Carpentaria Gulf and Central Desert regions in the Northern Territory.

Mr. Webster has held several Principalships in both jurisdictions and is currently a Lecturer in Education Support with Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education.

He is currently undertaking another learning journey of a Master’s Degree in Indigenous Perspectives (Education) by research, he is passionate about all things Indigenous, especially Education.

Mr Heath Baxter

Heath Baxter is freelance filmmaker, writer and creative industry manager.

Heath is a Kaytej man (Central Desert/Barrow Creek NT) born and bred in Darwin.
He became interested in community radio in his teens which led him to pursue a
future in the media industry.

While developing academically here at Batchelor Institute, Heath has had the
opportunity to establish strong networks with Indigenous media organisations in urban
and remote areas and has a good rapport with fellow students.

Heath is passionate about issues affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
people here in Australia